Congratulations to the best young pitcher of baseball — Tim Lincecum — for winning this year’s Cy Young award. I didn’t think it was possible, but he sure as hell proved me wrong … and I’m glad for it.


In balloting announced by the Baseball Writers Association of America, Lincecum won in a landslide. He garnered 23 of 32 first-place votes, seven second-place votes and one third-place vote, for a total of 137 points.

Brandon Webb of Arizona finished second with four first-place votes and 73 points. The Mets’ Johan Santana was third with four first-place votes and 55 points.

CC Sabathia of Milwaukee got the final first-place vote but finished fifth behind Brad Lidge, the Philadelphia closer.